What are the types of schizophrenia?

Muhammad Usman Babar
4 min readSep 20, 2020
types of schizophrenia?

Schizophrenia is a mental disorder that, until recently, was divided for study into different subtypes. In fact, in general, five types of schizophrenia are differentiated according to the traits that predominate in each case.

In all of them, there is an alteration in the way of interpreting reality. Hallucinations, delusions, and variations in behavior and thinking occur. It is a disease that has a great impact on the life of those who suffer from it and also on the people around them.

It can even pose a risk, as patients lose the ability to control their actions. Therefore, in this article, we explain everything you need to know about the different types of schizophrenia and how each one is characterized.

What is schizophrenia?

Schizophrenia, as we have just noted, is a mental disorder. It usually appears around 20 years of age. This is important because, many times, it is confused with other pathologies. However, it is rarely the same if the diagnosis is made in childhood or from the age of 45.

This disease affects behavior, the ability to think, and emotions. The truth is that the symptoms are highly variable. Hallucinations are one of the most frequent. They can be both auditory and visual.

The person with schizophrenia experiences sensations that do not exist, such as hearing a voice or seeing a person that is not real. A symptom that usually shows the alteration of thought is that she speaks in a disorganized way, without meaning.

Another common sign is abnormal movements. For example, moving your arm excessively or adopting a strange posture for a while. Even, as we will explain later, in some types of schizophrenia this movement disorder can become the main characteristic.

Read Also: What is vitamin B12 and what are its benefits for the body

What are the types of schizophrenia?

As they are well explained in an article written at the University of Salamanca, both the types of schizophrenia and the acceptance of the disorder itself is relatively recent. In ancient times, people who suffered from this disease were thought to be possessed by evil.

Therefore, it can be said that psychology advanced remarkably. Before the DSM-V ( Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition) was published, five types of schizophrenia were distinguished, which we will explain below.

Read Also: What is Dermatophagia and How to treat it

Paranoid schizophrenia

In these cases, the predominant symptoms are usually auditory hallucinations and delusions. According to a study published in the Electronic Medical Journal, it is the most frequent within the types of schizophrenia.

Disorganized schizophrenia

They are people who have a great alteration of affectivity. They find it difficult to act appropriately in all situations. That is, they are usually uninhibited and present chaotic behaviors. For example, laughing when someone tells them the bad news.


Among the types of schizophrenia, catatonic is one of the easiest to recognize. These are people who can stand for a long time without moving or without having any expression on their faces.

Although they remain motionless, their thoughts are racing at one speed. So much so that they disconnect from the outside and do not even respond to stimuli.

Read Also: What is the relationship between rhinitis and asthma?

Residual and undifferentiated

Undifferentiated schizophrenia is one in which no specific symptoms predominate, but rather a mixture of all the aforementioned occurs. The residual is that certain signs are maintained, despite having established a treatment.

What types of schizophrenia are there according to DSM-5?

Today, the is the standard used manual for diagnosing mental disorders. Regarding the types of schizophrenia, this tool included numerous changes compared to previous editions.

According to a study by the Revista Iberoamericana de Psicosomática, the main change is the elimination of these subtypes. What is currently being sought is to determine the symptom that predominates at the beginning of the disease.

n this way, instead of having types of schizophrenia, what is clarified are course specifiers. Thus, what is intended is that the psychologist or psychiatrist has a greater facility when evaluating and treating that person.

The types of schizophrenia are still used as a classification

The types of schizophrenia are, in general, five: paranoid, disorganized, catatonic, undifferentiated, and residual. Even though many experts have eliminated this classification, many others continue to use it because it can be useful when establishing treatment.

What we must remember is that any of the types of schizophrenia is serious. They pose a risk to the life of those who suffer it and even to their environment. Therefore, the main thing is to always seek help from a professional.

Read Also: What are the health benefits of white onion?

Originally published at https://howorwhat.com on September 20, 2020.